A World Without Racism

world-peace

I don’t know if America understands how racism not only affects blacks, but how it affects us all. It’s sad that in the year 2013 we’re still on the topic of racism. My father used to tell me that there would always be racism in the world, he was right. I myself am not, nor was I ever a racist. I’m actually not bothered by racism, because it’s so irrelevant in the progression of mankind. Racism will only hold us all back. If you’ve lived long enough, then you’ve most likely had to confront racism head on or you know someone who’s had to deal with racism. Nothing good ever comes of out hatred, and that’s exactly what racism is. It’s not a black versus white thing, it’s a you versus me thing. Instead of working together to provide a safer community for our children live, some of us would rather separated ourselves. Racist or not, we are all human and that’s the only classification that matters. If our world was overtaken by alien lifeforms we wouldn’t divide depending on our ethnic backgrounds, we would all unite as one race to defend our homes.

My family moved from a mostly black community in North Philadelphia to a white dominated neighborhood in Delaware. Our neighbors never greeted us, til this day I do not know any of my neighbors. They refuse to even look our way when we’re outside. Their actions don’t offend me, but I start to feel sorry for people like them who have no idea what experiences they’re passing up on by looking down on an entire race. I embrace different cultures from all over the world. I personally would never discriminate against anyone for anything. I believe that everyone has the right to be as they are and to live their lives without judgement. Living with prejudice is like giving up the right to understand how a certain culture operates. Racism is a self-destructive tool that needs to be eradicated so our children can live without those barriers. It’s truly up to those people to free themselves of the hatred and embrace the message of peace and love. Every single person on this planet deserves a chance to be understood, a chance to be loved, a chance to be seen as an equal. Today is your day to make a change, a change that’ll be passed on from generation to generation.

Share Your Thoughts !

