Here I Am

ground

I’ve given it my all and I still seem to fall. I’ve tried to stand tall but the ground beneath my feet rumbles and brings me down. I try to get up, but I slip, I crawl, and I fall right back in place. If I could just get to my feet, I could Walk away from the broken pavement. I could step over the cracks, onto the greener grass nearby. Here I remain, stuck, watching others stare in shame, pointing, and laughing.

They don’t know how hard it is to step froward when you’re standing on unsubtle ground. They have never been in my place, they know only what they see. They don’t know that it could be them here instead of me. One wrong turn could lead them down a broken road. Only if they’d help me, I’d help them avoid making the same mistakes I did.

I wish things were different. I wish I could walk freely, think clearly, and live peacefully. I know my position isn’t the best but I only make the best of it. Every time I get to my feet I feel a slight spark of hope. Maybe one day the rumbling beneath me will end. Eventually I will step forward and live on even grounds. Nothing can keep me down forever. I will stand tall and walk proud one day …. some day.

Share Your Thoughts !

