Passing Judgement

One thing that people do far too much of is being judgmental towards others. It’s not a good feeling to walk out of your house and feel like you’re being judged by the first person you see. In all honesty, that person may be actually passing  judgement on you. I know we all tend to judge others at some point but are we judging them for the right reasons? For most of us, the answer to that question is NO.

If you walk by someone and glance at their clothes and then decide that he or she isn’t the type of person you would associate yourself with, well then you have a problem. You just made a decision about who it is you would hang out with based on their attire. This is a totally disrespectful and childish thing to do. You do realize that someone may look at you in the same way and decide that they also wouldn’t want anything to do with you? People get judged for all types of reasons and they’re normally all the wrong reasons.

Why waste your time judging people on their clothes, looks, accents, skin color, or whatever it may be? Why not give people a chance? You never know what type of person it is you’re passing up on. For all you know, they could be your future boss, spouse, or family. It does take more time and effort to get to know someone but isn’t it worth it? Isn’t that one of the many wonders of life? The ability to meet all types of people. If you’re going to spend time judging these people, can’t spend time getting to know that person as well? Yes, you can.

I can’t recall how many times I’ve heard my friends or family talk down about a person whom they didn’t really  know. I’d sit there and think, well I do know this person and I think they’re pretty cool. I know for a fact that I’m judged daily by someone, somewhere. I get judged because I’m outspoken, emotional, and I tend to like things that some people can’t relate to. What they don’t know is that I’m a loyal friend/partner, I enjoy meeting new people and giving them the benefit of the doubt by accepting outsiders into my circle no matter how they dress, talk, or what they’re into.

The differences in people is what fascinates me. I guess there’s a large number of you out there who like to surrounded by the same people for your entire lives. If not, then I suggest you stop passing negative judgments on people who could be friends instead of outcasts. When I’m judging someone it’s usually after I’ve taken the time to get to know them. Otherwise, I’d have no right to judge them in the first place. More people need to take my stand on the situation. Some may think these people are weird and dress funny, but I think they’re just as cool as you. Now, you wouldn’t know that because you’re too shallow to give them a chance. Well, you only live once … so meet and befriend as many good people as you can because you never know who’s judging you.

Share Your Thoughts !

