BE Yourself

BeingME-Logo3a

I remember when fitting in was the popular thing to do. I knew people who got completely out of character in order to mix in with the cool crowd. At the time I was amongst those kids looking for a place to fit in. I found myself straying away from the things I loved most, just so I could seem cooler to people who really didn’t matter to me.

To this very day, those same people are still trying to fit in. Although they aren’t in high school they try to relate to their co-workers, family, and friends by taking on a completely different persona. A person that those friends can relate to. Me, well I gave up on fitting in a long time ago. If being myself makes me an outcast well that’s just the way it’s going to be.

I will never again try to be someone I’m not just to save face for people who can’t accept who I really am. Some people may dislike the real me but those who love me only love me for who it is I am and not who I try to be. I’m a young, opinionated, outspoken, and brutally honestly person. Like it or not, that’s just me.

Those are some traits you just can’t show when you’re trying to be accepted by whomever it is you put your mask on for. I took that mask off a long time ago and realized that I have to be me. I’m just different than a lot of people I know. I take pride in being different. i speak my mind and I don’t worry about meaningless opinions. People will judge you no matter how you project yourself.

I know some people who live off of trying to please others. I could never be that type of person. I may be annoying and hard to understand at times but I always speak the truth. Everything I do and say comes from the heart. I barely ever have to think about what I’m going to say because nobody knows me better than me. It’s far more easy to be yourself than it is to be that person you want everyone to believe you are.

Being different is okay. Being normal is fine too, but being “fake” is unacceptable.

10 thoughts on “BE Yourself

  1. I have had this experience, and like you one day I decided to simply be myself. Your words are pure truth.. And I couldn’t agree more. Great post for those who are lost, trying to rediscover who they really are. Excellent work.

  2. I couldn’t agree more. I spent years trying to ‘fit in’ and now I can’t imagine why. When you look around you find that your peers don’t have ‘it’ figured out either.

Share Your Thoughts !

