The Best of My Worst

One of the worst nights of my life lead to the best day of my life. That’s something not many people can say nor comprehend. Some people may frown upon some of my decisions as I tell this story. The more you read, the more you’ll understand why I made some of those decisions. I just ask you not to pass personal judgement. Just try to understand what it is I was going through and what I needed to do for myself in order to overcome some of those issues. Thank You … 

Times_Square

So … A few years ago, I found myself in a serious relationship. It one of those relationships that you know if you were dedicated enough, it would last … forever. That just wasn’t the case for me. I had so many personal demons, I could barely focus on my relationship. I found myself wanting to stay but needing to leave. I was lost and I knew that I would eventually break that girls heart. On a nice summer night it all came to end. I could feel it in me, I just couldn’t go on … I needed more freedom so I could straighten out things in my life. I had no time for a serious relationship.

I got up enough courage to tell my girlfriend of a year that it HAD to end and it had to end now. I never felt so bad inside, ever. Seeing her beg and plead for me to stay was hard on us both. At the same time, I knew there was no changing my mind. In result, the next night … I felt like I needed to clear my mind. My friends and I decided to go to a popular Philadelphia nightclub. I didn’t feel up to it but I dragged myself out anyway. I spent most of the time at the bar with my head down. That’s when it happened. I felt a tap on my shoulder … I looked over and I honestly saw the most beautiful woman I’ve ever seen in my life.

She saw right through me, she knew I was hurt. I couldn’t deny it. I started to tell how about my relationship and my decision to leave my girlfriend the night before. I thought she would see me as a bad person, but I didn’t care for anyone’s judgement at the time. This woman didn’t judge me for one second. She thought it was pretty courageous of me to leave something behind to avoid a worse situation in the future. She understood me in every way. This woman was not just at the bar trying to pick up a guy. I knew she wasn’t being friendly in order to get closer to me.  I could feel it, I could see it.

We sat there and talked for about an hour and a half. The night wrapped up and she told me she felt like we had more to accomplish. I didn’t understand what she meant but that lead to us exchanging phone numbers. I had no plans to meet this woman or do anything with her and I doubt if she had any plans like that for me. The fact that she lived in New York City made even more clear. We said our goodbyes after our long conversation and went out separate ways. I didn’t know if I would ever see her again but she made more forget about everything that happened the day before. It may sound cheesy but it sounded like destiny.

Philly-river4

A week went by and I had not heard from her. I thought about her every day that week. I wondered if she had thought of me. The following week I found myself in the same situation. I was feeling really bad about leaving my girlfriend but still, I wasn’t going back. The very thought of her consumed me. That lead to my friends and I going to Atlantic City to blow of some steam. It was a pretty good night but it didn’t cure the pain I had inside of me. The night ended as any other. On the ride home, my phone rang. It was the beautiful woman from the club in Philadelphia. My face lit up. The sound of her voice instantly reminded me that I was not the bad guy and that someone understood my situation.

The ride from Atlantic City to my house is almost a two-hour trip. We talked the entire way. By the time I get to my door, I felt like I had a new best friend. There’s was this lady who I didn’t know but she made me feel like I could never be wrong about anything. I needed her to guide me through some of the things I were going through at the time. To the average man, they would just see an opportunity for sex. That was the last thing on my mind. We talked until the sun had risen. By the end of that conversation, I knew I would get through the bad break-up. I also had gained a very special friend.

Eventually she invited me to New York City. She said New York will take your mind off of anything. I could not turn down her offer. I agreed to meet with her in New York in about a month from the moment she invited me. Time flew by as our friendship grew stronger. The day finally came and I was on a bus from Philadelphia headed to Manhattan to meet one of the most amazing and understanding people I’ve ever met in my life. I admit that by the time we met, I had begun to fall for this woman but I explained to her that there was no real possibility of a relationship due to bad timing and lingering issues I were dealing with. Just as she always has, she understood and respected my feelings. Everything was set. We met at a hotel in Mid-Town that she paid for in advance. I failed to mention that she ran her own online-business and was an interior designer. Basically, she was pretty well-off in terms of money. She wouldn’t let me pay for anything. She put out $500 for the hotel, which was only booked for the night. I knew she wanted to do this and I couldn’t tell her any different. I spent year in relationships and in one second with her, I felt more appreciated than ever. It was an amazing feeling.

We ruled the city that night. I felt limitless with her by side. New York City is a place to be reborn. Everything was so beautiful. You barely get time to think, you only have time to react to everything as it happens so fast. This city and this woman had my full attention. A New York minute seemed to last an hour. It was magical. I will never forget when we went out to dinner. It was my first time in a NYC taxi. We got out of the taxi at Ground Zero. I don’t think I’ve ever felt so overwhelmed in my life. I had never set foot somewhere so important on my history. I could feel the lingering pain of 9/11 as we stood there and she told me her story from the day. I found myself holding back tears. It can’t even begin to fully explain the magnitude of those moments there where the World Trade Center had once stood.

World Trade Center

Our lengthy walk to the restaurant was also very cool. I actually walked on Wall Street, saw the bull, and talked to some real New Yorkers …. it was simply amazing. We finally get to our destination and I was in shock. The place was so beautiful. The food smelled so good, candles were lit, and it was spotless. The best part was … the place was COMPLETELY empty. It was just us. It was our night, our time. That dinner alone was worst the trip. We took our sweet time and ate. Not one soul walked through those doors. I didn’t know if she had it rented out for us but I couldn’t figure out how such a classy place could be so empty. Either way, it was perfect. In my mind I thought I didn’t deserve any of this. She reassured me that I was more than worthy of such a wonderful time. The dinner concluded …. here is where I’ll let you imagine how the rest of the night played out 😉 Honestly … If I could describe perfection … it would be that night in NYC … with her … and NO ONE else.

 

FOR YOU : I can’t thank you enough even though I have thanked you almost every time we’ve spoken since that night. You gave me the best night of my life at a time where I’ve never felt worse. Thank You !

 

Share Your Thoughts !

