Death is one of humanities largest fears without a doubt. Early in my life, I had to face death. My father was stricken with lung cancer when I was in the 7th grade. It was that moment in my life when I realized that death isn’t to be feared but it’s to be expected. Life itself presents a much larger fear factor than death ever could.

I watched my father cringe in pain for so long, I knew it his time was coming … I understood that. I also knew that death was the easiest thing he had to deal with. When I looked into his eyes, I could see happiness. I was in the room when he passed and it was as if I instantly became aware of so many things I overlooked in the past.

Death was not the enemy. Life was my antagonist. Losing my father, I knew the odds were stacked against me. I knew my time would eventually come, but it was nothing to fear. Death … to me … is an accomplishment. You have to fear life in order to appreciate it. Fearing death, and living life will only distort your vision, fearing life and expecting death, gives you a perspective that few can truly understand.

Once I grasped that thought, that life is just scary, I eventually knew I had to face my fears. If I was afraid to live, how could I ever succeed. Fear and struggle is a common factor to success for many people. I knew I had to be 100% positive, 100% of the time in order to balance things out in my life because fear and negativity will be a constant. I knew … I had learned one of life’s greatest lessons … through death.

3 thoughts on “The Life of Death

  1. Good post. I was with my father when he passed away.

    I read something recently which said something like: I don’t particularly want to live a long life but l`m not quite ready to go yet.

    Tongue in cheek perhaps but it struck a chord with me.

    1. Thanks ! Sorry for your loss … Life is wonderful Either way we perceive it but only if you understand the importance of both life and death. Too many people live like death isn’t a factor until their time comes. Thanks for commenting !

      1. So true. The word EXPECTATION, which you mentioned in your post was the reason why i was going to sleep and couldn’t because I had to write somewhere my thoughts on EXPECTATION.
        While trying to sleep I thought, why do we expect so much instead of just accepting and taking what comes. We try to live a life in which we try to know everything that will happen next, but that is not to live. And i think that now a day people are just waiting to die instead of living.
        Expectation hurts.
        It hurts me at least.

        we don’t chose the path we make it. That why there’s so much evil deeds.

Share Your Thoughts !

