Yesterday started as normal as any day of mine could. I woke up at home in Delaware, I showered, left for work in Philadelphia, and stopped to get a morning coffee at Dunkin Donuts. If you do not know, well let me tell you. I am a locksmith and I work in Philadelphia, PA. I live in Wilmington, Delaware. We have offices in Northeast Philadelphia. I was headed to the office to start my day with some advertising work on the computer. I regularly work out in the field, opening cars and houses, changing locks, removing and installing locks, just normal locksmith stuff. Sometimes I do advertising work for the company, either at home or at the office in Northeast Philly.

Yesterday started as normal as any day of mine could. I woke up at home in Delaware, I showered, left for work in Philadelphia, and stopped to get a morning coffee at Dunkin Donuts. If you do not know, well let me tell you. I am a locksmith and I work in Philadelphia, PA. I live in Wilmington, Delaware. We have offices in Northeast Philadelphia. I was headed to the office to start my day with some advertising work on the computer. I regularly work out in the field, opening cars and houses, changing locks, removing and installing locks, just normal locksmith stuff. Sometimes I do advertising work for the company, either at home or at the office in Northeast Philly.

I arrived and the day was pretty slow on locksmith jobs. I knew I’d be in the office for a while. I got cozy and got done some work. My boss had just got to the office from a long day at work when he told me there was one job I could take. He told me it was an emergency and I asked him, well aren’t they all? I was being wise but this job wasn’t like the other emergencies. A women had locked her car keys in the car, with the car turned off, but with her baby in the back. I quickly called the woman and left out the door.

I knew this was a situation that had to be fixed and fixed rather quickly. I could imagine how the woman was feeling with her child in the back of a car she can’t get in. The cold Philly weather wasn’t any help. I rushed to the location of the incident  and I saw a lady standing near a car crying, I knew it was my customer. I got my tools out and I went to work. I got the car open almost instantly. It was one of my quickest jobs ever. I was aware of the pressure on the mother and her child’s safety. This job wasn’t  a job, it was more than that to everyone involved.

The look on the mothers face when I got the car unlocked, was priceless. Seeing her worrying tears turn into tears of joy in mid-air was a special moment. I knew I had performed my greatest deed. The lady was very thankful to me and I was very appreciative. I felt so good that I even gave her a discount on the total cost of the job. My boss wasn’t too happy about that but we’re close and he knew it was just me being me. He understood why I did what I did for the mother and he eventually got over it as the day passed. A normal day turned into very memorable learning experiences for a few normal people. Until next time, get out there and help those who need it. Thank you for reading !

This post is from another blog I have entitled “One Good Deed”. I just wanted to share this story with my network on this blog.  Here is the link to One Good Deed – Http://gooddeedsmatter.wordpress.com

 

Share Your Thoughts !

