I’ve always been a fan of video-gaming. When I was a kid growing up in the 90’s, the video-game scene was totally different. There were no 3D graphics, wireless controllers, and most of all, online multi-player game-play. When you wanted to play against a friend, the two of you had to be in the same room. Now we are able to connect to people across the world in a few clicks of a button. Online game-play is very enjoyable, most of the time.

One of the most popular video-games to play online, is Call of Duty: Black Ops 2. The goal is to shoot and kill the enemy as you take control of a member of the rival military unit.  The game brings together millions of players of many different backgrounds. Owners of the new generation of video-game systems also have the option to buy a headset, which allows players to communicate with each other during game-play.

Most people who play Call of Duty own a headset. Communication is a very important part of the game. While most players use their headset or microphone to help score a victory for their team, some users use it simply to degrade other users with racial-slurs and profanity.

The abuse is far too common. There’s almost more than a thirty percent chance that you will hear someone use the “N” word during your online gaming experience. Remember, this is a game that millions of people, include kids, regularly play for hours on end. As a black male, this topic is something that I had to touch. Personally, I am not offended by racist remarks. I’m smart enough to brush off the hatred and focus on things that really matter to me. Racism has never been an issue with me. I don’t complain when someone calls me a name, if I’m overlooked, or looked down upon because of the color of my skin.

The truth is, when I recognize someone as being a racist, I actually feel sorry for them. I don’t judge them or even hate them. Their decision to hate another person because of their skin pigment is clearly a foolish choice. They are depriving themselves of having positive interactions with an entire race. Those people are usually loners, and are troubled in their own way. It’s best to ignore them and let them be.

I find it troubling for those who have an issue with racism. It’s sad that they have to go online and be subjected to such negativity. The video-gaming companies themselves do not have much control over the issue. Users can be reported for using inappropriate language but the results never change. Hopefully, in the near future there will be a way to eliminate verbal abusers.

I do not have a solution for this problem. I’m sending this message in hopes of raising the awareness of the problem. Your kids may own this game and may even be apart of the issue. I suggest a closer eye be kept on your children’s activities when they are playing video-games online, especially the Call of Duty series . Their are too many people out there with nothing but filth spewing out of their mouths. Until major change comes, it’s up to us to personally handle this problem.

Share Your Thoughts !

